Review: Unconventional by Avery Aster

 Series: The Manhattanies (Book 4, but can be read as a standalone)

Genre: LGBT (m/f/m), Erotica, Romance

Rating: dnf at 25%

Cover: Yellow on red doesn’t work for me

Buy: Amazon

Trigger warnings: I didn’t finish this book, so I don’t know.
Description: Fans of Nicole Edwards, Shayla Black, Lexi Blake, and Lora Leigh will enjoy this stand-alone, cliffhanger free, m/m/f contemporary erotic romance novel that features and HEA for all three protagonists.

From New York Times Bestselling Author of The Manhattanites comes a ménage love story posing the question; can two men share the same woman forever?

They are the best of friends and the greatest of lovers. Two men and one woman, searching for fortune and fame, bound together by an eroticism their money and power can’t buy them. Luigi, the romantic alpha hunk. Rocco, the exotic bisexual. Jemma, the insatiable beauty who possesses them both.

From their first rendezvous in Milan, the three set out on a wicked course, jet-setting from the kinky underground sex clubs of Berlin, to the lavish palaces of Moscow, to New York’s high society in pursuit of pleasure. They have only each other to care for. That is…until a baby comes along and changes their destiny. But which of them is the father? And will they continue their poly relationship or give in to convention?

Review: I’m not so sure about the standalone description. I felt like I was thrown into a story, that’s been going on for quite some time. But there were more confusing things. Are they happy in their poly relationship or aren’t they? I felt like on one page yes and then on the next they think about splitting? A company gives you paid leave so you can have sex? A kingdom (not real? But in real world???) in which there are legal poly marriages?

The special acknowledgements start at 56% so, I nearly read half of this book. And there wasn’t really happening much, so… plot? I’m not sure, probably just sex. Character development? Maybe. In those parts I read, not really. There were a few alarming things, too, like “Rocco, never deny your partner in bed.” (kindle pos. 490)

I would have struggled through, if that had been all. But… the language. I couldn’t read it. I’m no fan of word creations like “sweet Jesus dick-a-licious” (kindle pos. 419), especially not when being used by adults. And then there were italian words everywhere; it didn’t matter if a character was speaking or not. Single italian words in english sentences. Nope. Not my thing.

FYI the pregnancy – which I was really interested in, because how will they handle it? – doesn’t seem to happen until the last chapter, which is titled “Frickin’ A! I can’t be preggers.” Again the language. Ugh.
Disclaimer: I was provided through NetGalley with a free copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: Unconventional by Avery Aster

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s