Ten Books I quit or struggled not to dnf

As always this meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Go and take a look at their blog!

This week I decided to write about 10 books I had to file under dnf or really thought about doing so. I want to focus on book I haven’t written about before, so my most recent dnfs won’t be featured – since you know I have quit them.


 

DNF

Child of doors

Child of Doors by J.S. Little was featured on a Halloween LGBT book list. So… I had to read it. But I couldn’t finish it because I was just so confused!

The Housewife Assassin’s Handbook by Josie Brown was part of a bundle I bought on Amazon for 99 cent. It was just too much of everything, really overdone in my eyes.

Good neighbours

Good Neighbors by Ryan David Jahn is inspired by the case of Kitty Genovese. I thought it would be really interesting. I was proved wrong.

Struggled to finish

I'm not a serial killer

I’m not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells was at times too juvenile and honestly I just expected something different, I think. I think I finished it… maybe? It’s been some years and I can’t remember much of this book.

Crucifix Killer

The Crucifix Killer by Chris Carter could have been a good read. If everything wasn’t so obvious and if I remember correctly, there was a case of Gary Sue going on that really bothered me.

The game

The Game by Terry Schott sounded so interesting, but sadly it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Plan to try again

Faith and fidelity

Faith & Fidelity by Tere Michaels… yeah, I filed it under dnf last year? The year before? I think it’s a good book but I read it – or rather started reading it – at the wrong time maybe. I couldn’t really concentrate on it and then I was bored. But some day I’ll pick it up again and start from the beginning!


Have you read the books on this week’s list? If so, did you like them or not?

Which books come to mind that you have struggled with or filed under dnf?

11 thoughts on “Ten Books I quit or struggled not to dnf

Leave a Reply

