Five Books To Read If You Like J.R.R. Tolkien

As always this meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Go and take a look at their blog!

Yes, I know, I know. Tolkien is Tolkien and as far as I’m aware of, there is no one like him. BUT after my cousin gave me his copies of The Lord of the Rings quite a few years ago, I really got into fantasy (before I was reading mostly crime/thriller – appropriate reading material for an eleven year old…).

Anyway, find below books which are a little like dear Mr. Tolkien’s (some of them are inspired by his books, I think).


magician apprenticethe elvenThe dwarvesthe dragonstoneTrek to Kraggen-Kor

Please don’t judge those books by their covers. The german ones are sometimes nicer to look at and I enjoyed reading those books back then. If you are interested in one or more, just click the cover and it will take you to goodreads.


Which books would you recommend if someone asked you for books like Tolkien’s?

Which book or author did you chose for this week’s theme?

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “Five Books To Read If You Like J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. Oh this is a fantastic rec post, you reminded me to get into Raymond E Feist, my dad adores The Magician series and I still haven’t cehcked it out yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL I love that you say don’t judge by covers! Sometimes forigen covers are prettier but always the inside that’s most important plus come on ugly cover books can go to ebooks 😉 I’ve also never read LotR but I did love the story in the movies so I could totally think about about stories like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just fell in love with elven and dwarves (I’ll never be able to decide which I prefer), so I searched for books about them back then. But to be honest… I wouldn’t have picked Trek to Kraggen-Cor with its english cover… I don’t think it does the book justice.

      Like

  3. Man, I STILL haven’t read anything by JRR Tolkein. I meant to read his books ages back (I borrowed the whole lot from the library) but I totally forgot about them. Yeah, those covers really aren’t the most appealing, but it’s great to know that the stories underneath are worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The cover is a big reason to pick up a book and read its blurb or not, if I don’t know the author or haven’t read someones rec for said book. If you ever have enough time, I hope you’ll enjoy Tolkien’s books and maybe those on my list. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s