Things that need to stop – or at least decrease in appearance: Insta-Love

things that need to stop

I get it, I get it. Sometimes you meet a person for the first time and you feel some sort of connection. That’s not what I am talking about here. I mean the “we met yesterday and I will die if you ever leave me!” Hello? You don’t even know this person. Four weeks in a relationship and you’re marrying.. what?!

How about getting to know a person before talking about love? Really know them, of course. The good and the bad. You can crush on someone really fast but that is not love. So let’s call it a crush, huh?

To me insta-love is not only unrealistic, I don’t get it and I think it’s lazy writing. Boom, love! The author doesn’t have to write about the little signs, the anticipation, the development… maybe they can’t do it and that’s why the characters fall in love without any reason to? So not lazy writing, but no talent for romantic writing? (I’m being deliberately mean here, folks.) I want to understand why two (or more) people fall in love and I can only do that, if the book shows me how it happens. At best, it makes me feel it.

And please, please don’t confuse lust with love. Just because someone is sexy in your eyes doesn’t mean it’s undying love, okay?


Are you bothered by Insta-love? Or maybe you like it? If so, please feel free to tell me why. There is so much Insta-love in novels, there has to be a market for it…

4 thoughts on “Things that need to stop – or at least decrease in appearance: Insta-Love

  1. I completely agree! Sometimes it works… but it’s pretty rare that I find a love-at-first-sight plot believable. I think there’s a fantasy for the reader, of course, that one day they’ll find “the one” and just know in their hearts that it’s meant to be, but that’s just not how real life works. (Also, I’d love to see a story where the characters meet, fall in love after a day or two… and four months later have an epic breakup because they’re not actually compatible!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

