Three bad reading habits

discussionĀ I am currently trying to get rid of one of mine, so I decided to blog about it.

There are habits, which are rather cute. I am sure we have all seen someone, who is so into a book, that they have no control over they face? I really love seeing this.

Then there are people, who lick their fingers before turning a page. I really don’t love seeing this. It’s one of the worst things to me. If your hands are dry, please use hand creme. I had a teacher, who always licked his finger before handing out papers and I swear could smell his breath on the paper….


But enough about this, let me tell you about my habits while reading.

1. Losing my bookmarks

This is a serious problem for me. I have lost so many beautiful bookmarks, I could cry. I remember one clearly. I bought it when I was in Vienna on a trip with my advanced course for history. There is the Hunderwasserhaus in Vienna? So of course I bought a Hundertwasser-Bookmark. There was a quote on it…. which I can’t remember. So much for “I remember one clearly”.

I am now using little snips of paper. Those I can lose all I want. But pretty they are not. Although I have read of magnetic bookmarks. Maybe I should invest in those… thoughts?

2. Pulling on my lips

This is the one I want to get rid of. Losing bookmarks is not nice but oh well. But this? It hurts. My lips are dry enough without me constantly irritating them.

The thing is, I just can’t stop it! If something makes me think or it’s really exciting, I pull on my lips or rub on them.

3. Forgetting where I am

I have lost count how often I was engrossed in a book and missed my bus or train stop. Now, if it’s in my town it isn’t a big problem but in a long-distance train? That wouldn’t be fun at all!

I remember one occurrence when I was on my way home from University. I missed my train so I sat down and read a little. And missed the next train and the one after that! I haven’t heard the announcement or the train pulling in… I don’t know how.


Do you have reading habits? And if so, do you like them or do you want to get rid of them (if you could)?

7 thoughts on “Three bad reading habits

  1. I can relate to all of these! Especially the last one, I travel by the metro a lot now and the number of times I’ve missed my stop is just sad šŸ˜‰ Also pulling lips. All. The. Time. Especially if it’s a goooood book. šŸ™‚
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Funny post šŸ˜€ Missing 3 trains has got to be a record!

    I don’t think I have ever lost a bookmark. How do you manage that?? I don’t read many physical copies these days so who knows, maybe it will happen to me when I finally do.

    I hate it when people lick pages too! Eurgh how irritating and, let’s be frank, gross. And I cannot think of a reason to do it. Be gentle when turning the page! What are you trying to do, marking your territory? Keep your saliva to yourself, darn it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Luckily I haven’t managed to miss so many again. That would have been embarrassing.

      I honestly don’t know… the bookmark is there and then it’s not. Maybe I have some sort of Bermuda triangle thing going on?

      Haha, that’s right!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ahah maybe xD

        Yeah, I can see myself missing my bus stop because the bus takes a while. I do keep reminding myself to look up every now and then.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

